Staff Leadership

Our leadership team reflects the broader spirit of United Way. Only by bringing together people from all sectors of society can we create innovative solutions that address the most complex challenges of our time.

Kris Whitfield

Executive Director for United Way of Laramie County

As Executive Director, Kris oversees all aspects of United Way of Laramie County by providing leadership to our all-volunteer Board of Directors and collaborating with agency staff. Kris has a heart for non-profits, having a long history of public service and management of multiple non-profits as well as business management. Kris and her husband Eric moved to Wyoming from Texas where she was a small business owner, served in many leadership roles on non-profit boards and served as an elected official in city government for many years.

“United Way of Laramie County has an amazing track record of giving back to the community and I am excited to get to know and work with our partners and supporters.  Every person deserves education, health and financial stability in their lives and our goal at United Way is make sure that is available to all.”

Shelly Bybee

Community Schools Resource Coordinator for United Way of Laramie County

Shelly is managing the Community Schools strategy, an initiative that organizes community resources around student success, at Cole Elementary and Hebard Elementary Schools. She has worked with youth and schools in many capacities including Juvenile Probation and Diversion with the State of Wyoming, in conjunction with the District Attorney’s Office. She has a BS in Child Psychology from the University of Montana, with an emphasis in Human and Family Relations. She has also worked directly with special education students in Jr. and Sr. High. She has two children with her husband who is an active duty military member at Warren AFB. Together they enjoy fishing and hiking.

“One of the greatest joys I have seen in my work is connecting those who are struggling to the tools they didn’t know existed. I love to help others identify the need and advocate to create change. Sometimes it’s simply a matter of asking ‘what would it take to make that happen?’ and going for the solution. United Way is a catalyst for improvement in our own community, and that is something to be proud of.”

“I feel very fortunate to have the opportunity to work with United Way of Laramie County in order to help the community in a variety of ways. A community grows stronger when it lifts up and stands by those who need help.”

Emily Rorabeck

Relations Manager/Data Specialist for United Way of Laramie County

Emily is responsible for providing information and administrative support, collecting and maintaining donor data, and supporting fellow staff members of United Way of Laramie County. She has been a resident of Laramie County her whole life, having graduated from East Hight School and studied at LCCC. She is excited about the opportunity to help the community by learning how to give back to those who need it the most, and encouraging others to do the same.

Special Thanks to Josephine Carlson, Legacy Photography for our staff and board photos!

Board Leadership

Our board represents a dedicated group of Laramie County business and community leaders, all of whom volunteer their time, energy and expertise toward our mission of uniting people, ideas and resources to advance the common good.

2023 Board of Directors

President: Dustin Woodhouse
Vice President: Erin McKinney
Secretary: Dorothy Moen
Treasurer: Conner Hunsaker

Campaign Co-Chairs

2022 Campaign Co-Chairs:
Bryan & Sara Pedersen Family

2023 Campaign Co-Chairs:
Trent & Tanya Keller

United Way of Laramie County Foundation Board

President – Aaron Courtney
Executive Director – Kris Whitfield
Treasurer – Conner Hunsaker
Pres Elect – Dustin Woodhouse
Board Members:
Marv Espinosa
Dorothy Moen
Mark Young

Board Members

Aaron Courtney – Jonah Bank of Wyoming
Shelly Courtney – LCSD #1 – Pioneer Park Elementary
Marv Espinoza – Espinoza Realty
Kaylee Ann Harmon – Long Reimer Winegar LLP
Conner Hunsaker – McGee, Hearne & Paiz, LLP
Rick Kaysen – Legislative Services Consultant
Tanya Keller – Coldwell Banker the Property Exchange
Trent Keller – Wyoming Bearing & Supply/PT Hose & Bearing
Erin McKinney – CRMC-Cheyenne Regional Medical Center
Dorothy Moen – WyHy Federal Credit Union
Lyndsay Orr – Wyoming Business Council
Bryan Pedersen – Pedersen Group RBC Wealth Management
Sara Pedersen – LCSD#1 – Davis Elementary
Abbey Palma – Blue Cross Blue Shield of Wyoming
Dustin Woodhouse – Wyoming Machinery
Gay Woodhouse – Woodhouse, Roden, Nethercott, LLC
Mark Young – Retired, State of Wyo Fire Protection & Electrical Safety

Executive Director – Kris Whitfield